Zen Decluttering!!!


A good friend gave me the most wonderful book recently called The life-changing magic of tidying up, the Japanese art of decluttering and organizing.  This easy-to-read book by Marie Kondo, a Japanese cleaning consultant, takes a whole new approach to decluttering the author calls the KonMari Method. Basically, it guides you in determining those items in your home that “spark joy” and discarding those that don’t, leading to a house without clutter and with lasting results.  She recommends a specific order to follow when decluttering, which enables you to make those hard discarding decisions, and the proper way to fold to solve your storage problems.  By surrounding yourself with only things that spark joy, you will naturally be happier, Marie says.

I like things orderly, but I am by no means a neat freak, and I have to be really motivated to clean out drawers and closets. After reading Marie’s book however, I could hardly wait to get started.  I’ve finished my clothes and am now ready to do books and papers. Even my husband is reorganizing his things!  Marie maintains, “a dramatic reorganization of the home causes correspondingly dramatic changes in lifestyle and perspective….. and is life transforming.”   I’m beginning to understand why. Don’t wait for spring cleaning to start to declutter – do it now!  With this new approach, it’s actually fun.

For more green living tips, visit greenwithbetsy.com.

10 responses to this post.

  1. I bought that book just a few weeks ago. My son is living with me while he reorganizes his life. (Laid off from an industry where work is now being outsourced) He’s a clutter bug. I need order but I’m a crafter, sewer, quilter, etc. I’ve often thought it would be lovely to have a workshop outside my home so all my creative stuff would be out of sight. Everything is organized, there is just too much. Lately, as I’m aging, I’m going through things and continually paring down, passing on. I only keep things I love and make me happy. I’m sending on fabric to another blogger than can’t afford to buy it and can certainly make better use of it than I right now. It’s an interesting little book. Unfortunately, the frame on my license plate states the story of me. Creative minds are rarely tidy. 🙂

    Reply

  2. I organize for a living, and read her book with great curiosity earlier this year. She’s resonating with a lot of people. I’m so glad you and your husband are enjoying her methods and find it works for you.

    Reply

  3. Good practices but easier said than done!

    Reply

    • It’s easier than you think, but just do what you can. Moderation?!

      Reply

      • Right – we both should have done this with our moves!

      • You are right. I threw out(recycled, gave away) a lot but it’s amazing how much more there is. I just filled up a huge garbage bag with clothes! Feels great!!!

      • I gave away tons of things to Vietnam Veterans in our area – tons. I had to pay for garbage folks to pick up a yard full of trash things from the house and still things continued to multiple. Then when in the new place, I found yet another bag to fill with clothes to give away. I’m certain there’s more. It’s appalling!

      • It really is, but I do love Marie kondo’s philosophy, “keep only what sparks joy”. It simplifies things….. And I feel like she gave me permission to throw papers away – that’s next!

Let me know what you think!

