Unusual Ways to Use Cucumbers


I harvested my first cucumber yesterday and several more are on the way! If you have an overabundance in your garden, be glad. Below are some clever, “green” uses for them.

My cucumber plant

  • Cucumbers are loaded with vitamins and minerals and make a great energy-boosting snack. They contain most of the vitamins you need every day – Vitamin B1, Vitamin B2, Vitamin B3, Vitamin B5, Vitamin B6, Folic Acid, Vitamin C, Calcium, Iron, Magnesium, Phosphorus, Potassium and Zinc.
  • Rubbing a cucumber slice on a fogged up mirror will eliminate the fog and provide aromatherapy at the same time.
  • Cucumber slices in an aluminum pie tin will repel grubs and slugs from your garden.  The chemicals in the cucumber react with the aluminum to give off an undetectable scent to humans but not to garden pests.
  • Cucumber is especially beneficial for the skin.  Rub a slice of cucumber on your cellulite and wrinkles to tighten the skin. Cucumber also reduces eye puffiness.Image by Betsy Wild
  • Eating a few cucumber slices after over imbibing and before going to bed helps to eliminate a hangover.  The sugar, B vitamins and electrolytes in the cucumber replenish essential nutrients.
  • Shine your shoes with cucumber – the chemicals provide a quick shine that also repels water.
  • A cucumber slice pressed on the roof of your mouth for 30 seconds kills bad breath germs. The phytochemicals kill the bacteria.
  • Next time you are out of WD 40, take a cucumber slice and rub it along the problem hinge and the squeak will be gone!
  • No time for a stress-reducing massage or facial?  Cut up an entire cucumber and place it in a boiling pot of water.  The chemicals and nutrients from the cucumber react with the boiling water and be released in the steam, creating a soothing, relaxing aroma that has been shown to reduce stress.
  • A slice of cucumber is a great, non-toxic way to clean your faucets, sinks or stainless steel. Simply rub it on the surface and it will safely remove tarnish and bring back the shine!

Have fun trying some of these versatile tips with your extra cucumbers.  Email me and let me know which ones you especially like!

Information compiled from: www.cropking.com/cucumberbenefit

For more green living tips, visit greenwithbetsy.com.

 

20 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Charlotte Carlson on July 10, 2015 at 12:32 am

    Love the info Bets & esp the title! Funny( well to me), serious, useful!

    Can’t wait to connect in Oct!

    Charlotte

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Reply

  2. I’m anxious to try a few of these. Not so interesting in how my face is but getting rid of slugs and snails is high on my list. Also bad breath. 🙂 I have never imbibed enough to need a cucumber. 🙂

    Reply

  3. I had no idea! Thanks for sharing. We’re missing our garden. This summer we’re in transition but hubby did manage to put in a few tomatoes and peppers at our cabin. Don’t know what we’ll find when we return in three weeks! Cukes from fresh from the garden are a favorite.

    Reply

    • Where are you now? I hope the transition is going well. Thanks for commenting….

      Reply

      • We’re in between Pennsylvania and North Carolina. Most of our “stuff” is in a storage unit waiting for our Florida house to be empty early next year! Life’s changes — keeps us young (I hope!).

      • Our stuff was in storage for two years! It is worth it and fabulous to be reacquainted with my things. And fun to put them in a new place. Good luck with the move and transition. Change is very good!

      • That’s how I’m viewing the whole process. When I finally get settled, opening each box will be like Christmas morning.

      • It will be!

  4. Posted by Charlotte on July 10, 2015 at 11:49 am

    Omg – who would hv guessed!!
    Could hv shined shoes before and eliminated hangover after the wedding!
    Of course, they also r great in salad!
    Good info , as always, Betsy!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Bill on July 13, 2015 at 1:08 pm

    Betsy, Great picture of Peter! – should be used as a logo image for men’s products, sort of like Burt’s Bees. Hope you’re well and enjoying the summer.

    Reply

    • Good idea Bill! Maybe you can recreate a more professional shot however! The summer is great – we are in our new “green” home and loving it! We’d love for you and Sara to come down sometime! I know how busy the summer gets however. Let us know….

      Thanks for commenting.

      Betsy

      Reply

  6. I love this!! This is the first year that I am growing cucumbers and I’m very excited that my plants are huge and have several blossoms on them! I will definitely be giving some of these a try!

    Reply

  7. Thanks for another well researched and written article Betsy. I posted to my facebook so others can benefit as well. I can hardly believe it was two years ago that you told me you were packing up your home!

    Reply

    • Thanks for reposting Starr! I can’t believe it’s been 2 years either. Peter enjoyed his visit with you – I’ll come soon! Hope all is well with you.

      Reply

  8. These are wonderful! I promise to try some and provide you some more of the requested feedback!

    Reply

Let me know what you think!

