Moving Today!


photoI’m typing this post in and amongst the movers who are packing my china and prized possessions and loading the van for this much-anticipated moving day.  Everything is going to either our charming, but much smaller apartment, to our Cape house or to storage.   All except my computer that is.  So, what has this experience of selling and moving from a family home of almost 30 years taught me?  Well…

  • Go through your house at least every 5 years as if you were moving and get rid of things!
  • Keep only things that you love, that are beautiful or that are sentimental.
  • Remember, some things have to be a memory.
  • And most importantly, reduce consumption – go for quality, not quantity.

It’s a bittersweet time for me – I’m excited about the next chapter of my life, but sad to see the old one close.  Such is life, right?

I’ll be back next week with a new green tip!

16 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Laurie on March 29, 2013 at 6:52 pm

    I want you both to know that we are thinking about you in your big move. I’m sure you will embrace the experience in your positive, considerate way. Can’t wait to hear about the new chapter. Please sat in touch!

    I would add the following to your moving list:
    Take lots of photos !!! They are green and serve as enriching reminders of events (even the event of moving) and those who have shared them.

    Reply

    • Thank you Laurie – it’s almost over! What a job! You are so right about the pictures – thank you for mentioning that. I’ve been taking pictures of everything like mad – Iphones make it so easy!

      We’ll be in touch!

      Reply

  2. Posted by Pam on March 29, 2013 at 8:05 pm

    Great ideas to live by and move by. Good luck with all in your transition!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Sarah Wilsterman on March 29, 2013 at 10:14 pm

    What an exciting day! Let let adventure begin… I am still unpacking and will be unearthing treasures for many months to come as will you. We wish you all the best for the next chapter in life. Laissez les bons temps rouler!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Carol Moriarty on March 29, 2013 at 10:14 pm

    Hi Betsy, Hope today’s move went well and thank you for the suggestions. The picture made me sad. 😦 I know, I know, it’s the right next step for you. Will be in touch the beginning of the week. Take good care of yourself! Xo

    Sent from my iPhone

    Reply

    • Thank you Sarah. As I stood surrounded by boxes in the new apartment, I kept thinking about what you said about unpacking! Everything gets done eventually! Yes, let the good times roll!

      Reply

    • Thanks Carol. It is the right next step, but as I said, it’s very bittersweet. Thank heavens for memories (and pictures and videos)! We’ll be going back and forth all weekend – the movers are coming back on Monday to take the rest to storage. What a job – I’m so glad it’s almost over. Thanks for your good wishes.

      Reply

  5. Posted by Nancy Yardley on March 29, 2013 at 11:24 pm

    Very poignant and true

    Sent from my iPhone. Nancy Yardley

    Reply

  6. Best of luck with the move and the transitions ahead, Betsy.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Bonnie McColl on March 30, 2013 at 4:05 pm

    Your home looks so lovely, the perfect family house in which to raise a wonderful family; hard to leave but exciting too….much less clutter and hopefully hassle, easier and new and different. Love and blessings in your new home……..Bonnie

    Reply

    • Thanks bonnie. It is an adjustment, particularly in this tiny kitchen. we’ll be splitting our time between here and the cape so the ease of it will be perfect, eventually! Hope all is well with you guys! A big hello to my croquet tournament.

      Reply

  8. I’m impressed that you blogged on moving day! What a woman! My best to you – and I received the bag yesterday! Thanks so much. It will make the perfect gift bag for my blog tour. Stay tuned and I look forward to hearing more about the move.

    Reply

Let me know what you think!

