The Green Garmento


I’ve just discovered the greatest “green” product that I am eager to share with you!  It’s one of those obvious “why didn’t I think of that” products!

I practice eco-conscious dry cleaning.  I go to an environmentally friendly dry cleaner, one that uses a safer alternative to perchloroethylene or perc. (Eighty-five percent of dry cleaners use the solvent perc classified by the EPA as a toxic air contaminant and possible to probable human carcinogen.)  I reuse some of the bags when I travel and wrap nice pants or a dress in them.  Or I return the bags to my cleaners for recycling.  But there are so many!    I’ve always wondered about a better alternative to all that plastic!  Well here it is…

Many dry cleaners place cleaned clothes inside...

Many dry cleaners place cleaned clothes inside thin clear plastic garment bags. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

It’s called the Green Garmento, an eco-friendly, recyclable, breathable laundry bag that can be a hamper, duffel to carry your clothes to the cleaner and a garment bag in which your dry cleaner can return your clothes instead of plastic!  It holds 10 – 14 garments with a full-length side zipper for easy access.  It is machine washable and has a clear window for an ID or a dry cleaning ticket.  What’s more, it’s only $17 for two (or $9.99 for one) so that you can rotate them between home and the dry cleaner.  You can order it online at thegreengarmento.com.

There are an estimated 300 million pounds of single-use dry cleaning bags that unless recycled end up in landfills, leaching chemicals and threatening marine and wildlife, every year.

It’s time to make a change to safer and more eco-friendly dry cleaning , don’t you think?


 

3 thoughts on “The Green Garmento

Let me know what you think!